For The Spark 2021, we are once again assembling a high-calibre jury whose expertise will be used to select The Spark 2021 winners at the jury meeting.
The jury meeting will take place on the 6th of October.

Sebastian Matthes

Editor-in-chief Handelsblatt

Fabian billing

Head of McKinsey & Company Germany


Ann-Kristin Achleitner

Scientific Director of the Center for Entrepreneurial and Financial Studies (CEFS), Technische Universität München

Christoph Brand

CEO Axpo Holding AG

Matthias Dill

CEO & Managing Partner Energy Impact Partners Europe

Dr. Ralph Fürderer

Chief Technical Officer (CTO) Und Vorstandsmitglied Hager Group

Prof. Dr. Veronika Grimm

Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Volkswirtschaftslehre, insbesondere Wirtschaftstheorie, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg und Mitglied im Sachverständigenrat Wirtschaft

Philipp Justus

Managing Director Google Germany GmbH

Katharina Kreitz

Co-Founder Vectoflow GmbH

Barbara Kux

Co-Chairwoman of the
Board of Directors Firmenich SA and Supervisory Board member of Grosvenor Group, Henkel und Pargesa Holding

Andreas Nauen

CEO Siemens Gamesa

Dr. Sigrid Nikutta

Vorstandsvorsitzende DB Cargo

Dr. Victoria Ossadnik

COO Digital, E.ON SE

Dr. Stephan Rohr

Founder & Co-CEO TWAICE

Dr. Frank Reintjes

Executive Vice President, Head of Global Powertrain, E-Mobility & Manufacturing Engineering, Daimler Truck AG

Markus Sontheimer

CIO and CDO, DB Schenker


In the nomination phase, external topic experts, the Handelsblatt editorial team and a representative of McKinsey evaluate the applications. . Again, the three evaluation criteria (novelty, scalability, impact) are applied, yielding a shortlist of ten finalists.

The experts for the nominations in 2021 are

Prof. dr. Michael Dowling

Professor for Innovation and Technology Management, University of Regensburg and Chairman of the Board of the Münchener Kreis

Prof. dr. habil. Alois Knoll

Professor at the Technical University of Munich, Chair of Robotics, Artificial Intelligence and Real-Time Systems

Florian Petit

Founder Blickfeld and Winner The Spark 2019

Raffael Winter

Partner at McKinsey & Company